Educate QA

UK's Leading Teaching, Assessment and QA Course Provider

Leading Training Provider for Education


Looking for the A1/A2 or D32/D33 Assessor Qualification?

We get continual enquiriesabout the A1/A2 and D32/D33 Assessor Qualifications. Lots of them; people call or email almost every day. They’re ‘standard’ industry qualifications in many management and HR minds. The reality, though, is somewhat different.

Old information, like old habits (and excess weight), are difficult to shift.

Bad news alert –  A1/A2 and D32/D33 are obsolete qualifications. They’re no longer available. Haven’t been for a number of years now.

But there is good news too.

There’s a ‘new’ qual in town. The Level 3 RQF Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA).

Actually, it’s not really that new, butstill has some time to climb up to the ‘top of mind’ position previously occupied by A1/A2 and D32/D33…

The Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA) is the only qualification that enables you to practise as a fullyqualified assessor in all environments, including the workplace. It’s also eminently suitable for classroom or professional training assessors.

Often referred to as the TAQA (Training, Assessment and Quality Assurance) qualification, the Level 3 CAVA is the updated and nationally recognised replacement forA1/A2, D32/33.

Of course, anyone previously qualified as an A1/A2 or D32/D33 Assessor, as long as their knowledge and practice is up-to-date, are still able to use their skills and expertise to operate within their respective fields.

However, it makes sense for all professionals to update or upgrade their skills on a regular basis. Indeed, all self-respecting Assessors will conduct CPD activities to ensure they provide best value to their employers and learners/trainees.

Warning. Where an Assessor has previously qualified via the D32/D33 or A1 route and hasn’t practiced for some time (say, 18 months or more) their qualification may not be considered as ‘current’ by their IQA.

The quickest and most realistic way to become ‘current’ would be to enrol on a Level 3 RQF Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (Unit 1)as CPD.

This is a knowledge only award for those who need to know about assessment (and current practice) but who may not be currently practicing. It is the surest route into fully upgrading your Assessor skills to allow you to practice.

This unit provides the foundation for the rest of the qualifications at level 3.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.